The story of Emu Bottom Homestead can be traced back to August 30 1835, when the topsail schooner Enterprize sailed across Bass Strait into
Port Phillip Bay and entered the Yarra River.
Among those early pioneers was the Englishman George Evans. He explored the local area but preferred to settle on a squatting run in a picturesque valley near the modern suburb of Sunbury. It was here that Evans, an accomplished builder and aspiring grazier, constructed an impressive family home from local sandstone and timber, which stands to this day.
Evans named his homestead 'Emu Bottom' in recognition of the low lying land where the building stood that was often frequented by large flocks of emus.
When building began in 1836 Evans was a 51-year-old bachelor. It was a tough life for the early settlers but his early efforts were rewarded. He grazed up to five thousand sheep as well as other livestock on his 'run'.
Evans married Anne Holden, when he was fifty-eight and she was eighteen. They had six children who were born at Emu Bottom.